maybe a documentation for the future generation

best investment

This blog comes from my recent introspection on myself, where I was reflecting on who I've become and what it took to get here.

I've always been competitive, be it sports, studies, video games, etc. This competitiveness has led me to seek guidance through self-help books, seniors, elders, etc.(in a way, seeking Lord Krishna for me, the Arjun of my story). And after all these years of learning and implementing, I've unknowingly levelled up.

What I am today, is the sum of the consequences of my past actions. And if one views a human life as a video game, every incident has built me up.

This macro view has made me realise that the best investment, is me. To you, the reader, the best investment is you. All you have is you. Your parents, grandparents, siblings, better half, and friends will all come and go in due time. In certain situations, you can trust them; in others, you cannot. In some scenarios, you will have their support; in others, you won't.

Since we are the only person, one can leverage with trust, we breakdown "what" an individual is into these realms -

  1. Internal - Physical
  2. Internal - Mental
  3. External - relations, Money, etc.

There is enough knowledge about the first two points on the internet, so I'll only be exploring the monetary aspect.

While reading books such as Psychology of Money, Rich Dad Poor Dad, Let's Talk Money, 5 AM Club, etc., I've come across this concept of investing money in areas where you can directly reap benefits. Since I've started earning (1st year of college), I've always allocated some money to invest in myself. Whether it be buying courses or books, joining cohorts, getting premium subscriptions, etc, I've leveraged every opportunity with the aim of making my life easier or better. And therefore, the lesson has been to always "Invest money on things which improve me/my life."

Buy that expensive course which teaches you about system design. Buy that book which teaches you about Golang. Buy that ticket, which allows you to learn in a cohort and build with like-minded people. Trust me, the results are always exponential.

As sir karpathy says - "the general point is that you have to recognize that you are dumb, accept it, come to terms with it, and forgive yourself. only then can you trick yourself into becoming smarter." And when you're learning, learn from the best. With vast amounts of information on the internet, filtering and finding the right content is equivalent to sharpening the axe before cutting the tree.

So - Invest in yourself. Have faith in yourself. Buy that course, join that cohort, buy that book, and get that premium subscriptions.