maybe a documentation for the future generation

why write?

To declutter my brain is what I think of first. In a world where you're constantly being bombarded by information, it does not take long for your brain to become temporarily brain-dead. You just keep hogging information(with limited-to no output) eventually becoming a consumption zombie. Interactions with you are meaningless, as your opinions are less of a processed output, but rather more of an information vomit. And any structured conversation/debate turns into a heater argument.

Write. Write about what you read. Write about what you see. Write about what you do.

I've started this habit of taking notes and documenting anything and everything possible. Is it overkill? Yes, in 40% of the cases, I can just work without spending any time writing. I get the desired output and it is faster.

But. What if I choose to write in place of saving some time?

  1. It creates a history of what all work I've done, giving me a reference point to work with.
  2. If I post it somewhere, it creates social proof.
  3. I declutter my brain.(IMP point)

Whenever I work, I've taken this approach of treat my brain as more of a processing unit and less of a memory storage unit. I take a marker/pen and just start scribbling down what I know.

  1. This helps me visualise what the problem statement is and what tools I have. Then I can better focus on the haves and have-nots.
  2. It helps me with better planning
  3. If I want to convey an idea/ask a question, it is easier to explain with diagrams as it assists any person with rapid context switching. Specially when you're reaching out to a person who works on multiple things. Plus, there is reduced risk of misunderstanding.